Do You Dream of Terra-Two? Book Review

Do You Dream of Terra-Two? by Temi Oh

Age: Upper Young Adult or New Adult

Genre: Science Fiction

Publication Date: March 7, 2019

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.


Content Warnings: Death by suicide, physical assault

I love finding books that are such hidden gems. I came across Do You Dream of Terra-Two? on Scribd, and saved it. The premise was unique to me (six teenagers being trained specifically to go to space and colonize a new planet? Hell yes) and I’m starting to be a sucker for SciFi. Set in 2011, it occurs in a version of our world where humans have a different scientific and space history – including already sending people to Mars. And goddamn if this book didn’t blow me away.

Temi Oh has a fantastical yet real quality to her writing that fit the scenes of Do You Dream? like a spacesuit should – airtight. About a third of the book takes place on Earth, but it never feels like it deviates from the SciFi genre. Yet there’s enough of the fantastical elements that you can’t help but wonder if there’s some magic at play in the astronauts’ lives. I certainly don’t have a concrete answer – but I have my own speculations, and I encourage you to read the book and create your own.

Do You Dream? is a character-driven story, but the pacing never felt slow. We get to hear from each of the main characters multiple times, and each chapter provides another glimmer of insight as to what makes them tick. We follow them on their journey, both literally to Terra-Two, and figuratively in their growth. Oh throws moral and physical dilemmas at the cast again and again, causing alliances and enemies to shift and change like the ocean. Stormy and full of anger one minute, calm and serene the next – I was drawn into their lives and expedition.

I obviously have no experience with space or being homesick for earth, but every situation was so real. I was enthralled with how each character would react to the scenarios and conversations. If humans were to launch an expedition to a new planet today, I can imagine some of these exact scenarios would take place on that ship. Each character brings some of their own expectations and fears plainly and without guilt. Jesse has the prophecy of his early death hanging over his head. Astrid can’t help but feel destined for another world. Harry deems victory is owed to him. Reading about each of them felt like a roller coaster – adrenaline fuelled and eager for more. Through both the ups and downs.

My only complaint is that the ending flew by. The pacing drastically changed and it felt too short compared to the rest of the narrative. I wanted more of the resolution and how they got there. The rest of the pacing felt like a leisure walk through a park before suddenly a massive thunderstorm rolled in and it was a sprint to the end. But I’d be lying if I said I didn’t cry a little bit.

All in all, what a fantastic book. I know I’ll continue to think about Do You Dream of Terra-Two? for a long time. And keep my eye on Temi Oh for new work from her. Let me know if you’ve read the book!

Until next time,

Aislyn


Leave a comment